Broken Record …

What song is stuck in your head (or on permanent rotation in your CD  or MP3 player) these days? Why does it speak to you?

Any form of art remains ordinary until it strikes a chord within you. It is the relationship with the strums of guitar or certain sequences of keys or specific lyrics on the backdrop of a soulful tune that synchronize with you and for a moment, the world stops. Or starts sprinting in a frenzy.

A song stuck? A list of songs played again and again? It happens to me. But the virtue of those are scattered everywhere. Generally, it happens when a fragment of it has stayed with me during a conversation or a rumination of any sort. It does not necessarily speak to me, but is a nagging reminder how our minds do their own thing. The ones that are soulful – stay fleeting, even forgotten at times and like an exquisite meal after weeks of fasting, they spring up and remind me that I do have quality when it comes to music.

Music is a companion to me like breathing. If someday its banned, I’d end up in an emergency room in no time. It remains a form of art that touches me the most and makes me long for more. In that quest, everything comes to my attention and while I search high and low for what synchronizes with my heart, there is a lot that passes by. And some remains in the sieve of my mind like husky wheat adhering to the ones I identify with. I hope someday, I discover what does it say about me.

However, in light of current unrest in the world – I hum the title track “rush of blood to the head” by Coldplay :

I am gonna buy a gun and start a war, if you can tell me something worth fighting for…

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/daily-prompt-earworm/

10 thoughts on “Broken Record …

  1. Lovely post! I too don’t think that I could live without music, I’m deaf in one ear and have a fear of loosing hearing in the other

      1. No worries, can be handy when I want to sleep and there’s noise or when I don’t want to hear something 🙂 just afraid of losing the other

Now the spotlight is on you :