If I were a bird ..

Weekly writing challenge

If I were a bird, I could
Perch all day on a lamp-post with just survival on my mind,
Simply walk the ground searching for worms besides a notion of quality,
Not care to hide my odors under a perfume,
Soar high and low past the universal force of gravity.
 
If I were a bird, I could
Love and reproduce beyond the worries of child-support and alimony,
Shy the deadly diseases away even after not wiping my behind,
Poke my fellow species unaware of my Facebook reputation,
Tweet all day long with no one shutting me up.
 
If I were a bird, I could
Claim no land and hide no assets,
Cross the borders without a passport and a never expiring visa,
Go about my day, blessed with the ignorance of my purpose in life,
Live vigilantly each moment as it comes and only die once.
 
If I were a bird, I could
Avoid financial and physical mirrors everywhere,
Trust the nature’s plan for me without a doubt,
Thank God for not giving me evolution if it means discontent,
Pray for peace between evolved humans all around .
Now the spotlight is on you :

