No Way!

If you could be someone else for a day, who would you be, and why? If that seems too easy, try this one: who would you like to have spend a day as you and what do you hope they’d learn from the experience?

I cannot lend myself to anyone; so much time and effort is invested in discovering, labeling, judging and finally finding a small inlet to get me. And even now, the quest continues. I wish to keep on this road without any detours.

Few years back, I realized that it is not possible to actually “know” someone – you simply end up drawing conclusions of your own by snippets of interaction and something as vague as understanding. It is better to spend the time on yourself – peeling your layers – comprehending what lies in the tender most you that is protected by a dry, flaky shell.

The truth of the matter remains that there is only a single “me” in the universe and there is only a single “you”, and that is freaky awesome. No one will ever come close to the selection of exact genes, set of internal and external influencing variables, the conflicting and even sometimes, random choices and the hard work that I have unknowingly spent in creating myself. It is a unique footprint.

Slightly on tangent, this daily prompt reminds me of people drawing inspiration of all sorts from lives of leaders, celebrities and what not – trying to imitate the learning of their experiences. While inspiration is worthy of credit, the following is often fake for what has come to them after a lifetime cannot be appreciated rather realized by anyone else. The only wisdom of their journey is to find your own way and take every step with conviction. And that covers everything.

So, impersonating me by someone else is a preposterous idea. While I can be compassionate and humble and even infinitesimally small understanding by some standards, I hold myself back for this freaky transaction. The latest version of “me” is the only original I have that cannot be photocopied at any cost. Period.

Next prompt please..

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/04/18/daily-prompt-freaky-friday/

5 thoughts on “No Way!

  1. You’re perfectly correct, but I don’t think anyone would take the challenge if it were possible even though they fantasize about it at times.

    1. Thanks for stopping by 🙂 and posting your thoughts. A lot of people including myself find the grass being greener on the other side but yeas, you are right, when it’d come down to exchanging my self with someone else, I’d not do it 🙂

Now the spotlight is on you :

