Time, Money and Me

Daily Prompt: Seven Days

You wake up tomorrow morning to find all your plans have been cancelled for the next seven days and $10,000 on your dresser.

In a perfect world, we’d all have enough resources to go by without struggling everyday for a livelihood; we’d be living a life free of illnesses and disappointments and everyone around us will live forever. But that ain’t so. Happiness remains a fluttering butterfly going from one flower to other; avoiding the ones that are dying or rotten.

So you and I gotta get up in the morning, no matter how weary we feel – to get a nest egg going for our dependents; exercising a bit and eating healthy so that we can fulfill our responsibilities and yet drink coffee to indulge a bit; keeping our ears and eyes open for a bit of gossip and flirting. It keeps us going.

In spite of all the limitations above, I love my life and the (ir)regularity of it. If everything is cancelled for a week (as per the daily prompt) and I find $10,000 lying on my dresser, I’d step back and take a few minutes to accept them as mine. My first notion, would be to return them to their rightful owner ( I gotta kick myself for these deep-seeded values, at time, grr).

Anyways, in all seriousness, I’d devote my time to volunteering that I haven’t been able to do because of my job and other responsibilities. I’d go to the local Visiting Nurse’s Association office and figure out how to fill my seven days with as much work as I can for the hospice patients. Next in line will be schools – I’d  help out classrooms, teachers, be a traffic guard and so forth. The remaining hours will go towards my family duties.

Now the money! As much as I’d like to use to for my outstanding debts, future education of my kids or some other equally necessary personal use, I’d donate it – either to a children’s foundation or an old home or to a hospice center or to any right cause that comes along.

What will I get in return?

Maybe the butterfly of happiness will dwell a little longer with me. Nothing can beat that.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/03/07/daily-prompt-seven-days/

7 thoughts on “Time, Money and Me

Now the spotlight is on you :

