How many words am I worth?

Writing an eulogy? How can an entire lifetime be summed up in a few words or paragraphs? Or does this imply that we live for many years that can be read in a few minutes? Perhaps, it is a destination or confirmation we all seek – to remain in hearts of the one we love, after we are long gone. It gives us some hope that we are still living and not abandoned or forgotten.

What would my eulogy look like? I can’t guess or say – it will be my perception of self rather than an objective view of me, my habits and my influence on others. I only wish that my loved ones remember me every time they hear a song or read a book that sketches a side of me in their mind. That a certain food or its taste brings back a visual of us sitting together on a table, enjoying it, cracking jokes at each other. That when a wildflower moves in the wind, it carries a whiff of my scent to them and they smile. A true eulogy will not be a description of my strengths and weaknesses but an unsaid presence of me by their side, holding their hands and walking past the highs and lows of their life reminding them to smile, to cry and to live.

An honest eulogy is never about words of accomplishment but about the feelings, the warmth, the loss and the love it brings to the heart of the ones who are left.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/25/daily-prompt-eulogy/

9 thoughts on “How many words am I worth?

  1. I agree wholeheartedly. I like your description of an eulogy being “an unsaid presence of me by their side, holding their hands and walking past the highs and lows of their life reminding them to smile, to cry and to live” as it is a reflection of the time spent with someone – and I would want those mourning me to remember the time we shared.

Now the spotlight is on you :

